Beware Of Fake Facebook Video

There is malware making the rounds right now veiled as a Facebook video, but hijacks web browsers and Facebook accounts

The malware is sent as a link in an email claiming you have been tagged in a Facebook posting. Clicking on the link takes you to a website informing you that you must install a browser plugin to watch the video. The plugin actually provides the perpetrators of this crime the ability to retrieve all stored information in your browser, including saved passwords.

Using stolen credentials from your browser the malware also send messages to your friends on Facebook enticing them into the same scenario. This is allowing the malware to spread rapidly.

Part of the insidious nature of this malware is to block access to the browser settings that would allow you to remove it, as well as block sites that have virus removal software.

Remember to never click on a link, or open an attachment, from any source you can not verify. For more about being safe online read my book.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s